Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Rhode Island, Unique Aspects of Rhode Island Payroll Law and Practice
The Rhode Island State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 14 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a .00 penalty for a late report and 0 for conspiracy in Rhode Island.
The Rhode Island new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-870-6461 or on the web at www.rinewhire.com
Rhode Island does not allow compulsory direct deposit
Rhode Island requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Rhode Island requires that employee be paid weekly; except salaried employees paid at biweekly, semimonthly, monthly, or annual rate.
Rhode Island requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payment of wages to the employee not exceed nine days.
Rhode Island payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by next regular payday; within 24 hours if employer closes down, moves, or merges. Voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by the next regular payday.
Deceased employee's wages of 0 must be paid to the surviving spouse, adult children, parents, siblings, or person paying funeral expenses (in that order).
Escheat laws in Rhode Island require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in Rhode Island to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 7 years.
Rhode Island payroll law mandates no more than .86 may be used as a tip credit.
In Rhode Island the payroll laws covering mandatory rest or meal breaks are only that all employees must have 20-minute meal period after 6 hours, with some exceptions.
Rhode Island statute requires that wage and hour records be kept for a period of not less than three years. These records will normally consist of at least the information required under FLSA.
The Rhode Island agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Department of Administration
Division of Taxation-Child Support Enforcement
77 Dorance St.
Providence, RI 02903
Rhode Island has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,