Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll New Mexico, Unique Aspects of New Mexico Payroll Law and Practice
The New Mexico State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a .00 penalty for a late report and 0 for conspiracy in New Mexico.
The New Mexico new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-878-1607 or 505-995-8230 or on the web at www.nm-newhire.com
New Mexico does not allow compulsory direct deposit
New Mexico requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
New Mexico requires that employee be paid no less often than semimonthly, up to 16 days apart; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees.
New Mexico requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payment of wages earned from 1st-15th of month, pay by 25th; from 16th-end of month, pay by 10th of next month; 5 days extra for out-of -state payrolls.
New Mexico payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay with in 5 working days; 10 days for wages paid by commission, task, or piece rates; next regular payday if suspended due to labor dispute. Voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by the next regular payday.
Deceased employee's wages must be paid when normally due to the surviving spouse.
Escheat laws in New Mexico require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in New Mexico to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 10 years.
New Mexico payroll law mandates no more than 50% of minimum wage may be used as a tip credit.
In the New Mexico payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.
New Mexico statute requires that wage and hour records be kept for a period of not less than one year. These records will normally consist of at least the information required under FLSA.
The New Mexico agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Child Support Enforcement Division
Department of Human Services
P.O. Box 25109
2025 S. Pacheo
Santa Fe, NM 87504
New Mexico has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,