Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Nebraska, Unique Aspects of Nebraska Payroll Law and Practice
The Nebraska State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a .00 penalty for a late report in Nebraska.
The Nebraska new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-256-0293 or 402-691-9957 or on the web at www.nenewhire.com
Nebraska does allow compulsory direct deposit but the employee's choice of financial institution must meet federal Regulation E regarding choice of financial institutions.
Nebraska has no State Wage and Hour Law provisions concerning pay stub information.
Nebraska requires that employee be paid on paydays designated by employer or agreed to by employer and employee.
In Nebraska there are no statutory requirements concerning the lag time between when the services are performed and when the employee must be paid.
Nebraska payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay earlier of next regular payday or within 2 weeks and that voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay earlier of next regular payday or within 2 weeks.
There is no provision in Nebraska law concerning paying deceased employees.
Escheat laws in Nebraska require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in Nebraska to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 7 years.
Nebraska payroll law mandates no more than .02 of minimum wage may be used as a tip credit.
In Nebraska the payroll laws covering mandatory rest or meal breaks are only that manufacturing employees must have a 30-minute meal period between noon and 1 p.m. or another suitable hour.
There is no provision in Nebraska law concerning record retention of wage and hour records therefor it is probably wise to follow FLSA guidelines.
The Nebraska agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Child Support Enforcement Office
Department of Health and Human Services
P.O. Box 94728
301 Centennial Mall So., 5th Fl.
Lincoln, NE 68509-4728
Nebraska has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,