Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Montana, Unique Aspects of Montana Payroll Law and Practice
The Montana State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is no penalty for a late report in Montana.
The Montana new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-866-0327 or 406-444-9290 or on the web at http://www.dphhs.mt.gov/aboutus/divisions/childsupportenforcement/relatedtopics/employerinformation.shtml
Montana does not allow compulsory direct deposit.
Montana requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Montana has no statutory provision on how often employee must be paid.
Montana requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payment of wages to the employee not exceed ten business days after wages become due; next pay period if timesheets are late.
Montana payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay immediately, unless employer's written policy extends the time period to the next regular payday or 15 days from date of termination, whichever is earlier. Voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by the next regular payday or 15 days from date of separation, whichever is earlier.
There is no provision in Montana law concerning paying deceased employees.
Escheat laws in Montana require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in Montana to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 10 years.
Montana payroll law mandates that there is no tip credit of minimum wage.
In the Montana payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.
There is no provision in Montana law concerning record retention of wage and hour records therefor it is probably wise to follow FLSA guidelines.
The Montana agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Child Support Enforcement Division
Department of Public Health and Human Services
3075 N. Montana Ave., Ste. 112
P.O. Box 202943
Helena, MT 59620-2943
Montana has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,