Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Minnesota, Unique Aspects of Minnesota Payroll Law and Practice
The Minnesota State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a .00 penalty for a late report and 0 for conspiracy in Minnesota.
The Minnesota new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 800-672-4473 or 651-227-4661or on the web at www.mn-newhire.com
Minnesota does not allow compulsory direct deposit
Minnesota requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Minnesota requires that employee be paid no less often than every 30 days; semimonthly for public service corporations; 15-day intervals for laborers.
Minnesota requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payments of wages to the employee not exceed thirty days; 15 days after pay period for public service corporations.
Minnesota payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay immediately, or within 24 hours of demand and that voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by the next regular payday; if payday is less than 5 days, then by second payday, but no more than 20 days after discharge.
Deceased employee's wages of ,000 must be paid to the surviving spouse upon request and after affidavit showing proof of relationship is shown.
Escheat laws in Minnesota require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
There is no provision in Minnesota law concerning record retention of abandoned wage records.
There is no tip credit in Minnesota law concerning State minimum wage.
In Minnesota the payroll laws covering mandatory rest or meal breaks are that a sufficient time to eat a meal during shift of at least 8 hours; adequate time to visit restroom in each 4 hours of work; reasonable time to express breast milk (doesn't need to be paid).
Minnesota statute requires that wage and hour records be kept for a period of not less than three years. These records will normally consist of at least the information required under FLSA.
The Minnesota agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Child Support Enforcement Division
Department of Human Services
444 Lafayette Rd., 4th Fl. S.
St. Paul, MN 55155-3846
Minnesota has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,