Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Michigan, Unique Aspects of Michigan Payroll Law and Practice
The Michigan State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is no penalty for a late report in Michigan.
The Michigan new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 800-524-9846 or on the web at http://www.newhire-usa.com/mi/.
Michigan does not allow compulsory direct deposit
Michigan requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Michigan requires that employee be paid semimonthly; monthly if wages paid by 1st of next month; weekly or biweekly if paydays regularly scheduled.
Michigan requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payment of wages earned from 1st-15th, pay by 1st of next month; 16th-end of month, pay by 15th of next month; 14 days after pay period for weekly or biweekly paydays to the employee.
Michigan payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay immediately, or as soon as amount due is determined and that voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay when amount is determined.
Deceased employee's wages must be paid when normally due to employee's written designee; if none, surviving spouse, children, parents, or siblings (in that order).
Escheat laws in Michigan require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year if more than .
The employer is further required in Michigan to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 10 years.
Michigan payroll law mandates no more than .50 may be used as a tip credit.
In the Michigan payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.
Michigan statute requires that wage and hour records be kept for a period of not less than three years. These records will normally consist of at least the information required under FLSA.
The Michigan agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Office of Child Support
Michigan Family Independence Agency
235 S. Grand Ave., Ste. 1406
Lansing, MI 48933
Michigan has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,