Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Kansas, Unique Aspects of Kansas Payroll Law and Practice
The Kansas State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is no penalty for a late report in Kansas.
The Kansas new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 888-219-7801 or 913-296-1716 or on the web at http://www.dol.ks.gov/ui/html/newhires_BUS.html.
Kansas does not allow compulsory direct deposit
Kansas requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Kansas requires that employee be paid no less often than monthly.
Kansas requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payment of wages to the employee not exceed fifteen days.
Kansas payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by their next regular payday; by mail on request and that voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay by the next regular payday; by mail on request.
Deceased employee's wages must be paid when normally due to the surviving spouse, children 18 or over, parents, siblings, or funeral director (in that order) on demand.
Escheat laws in Kansas require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in Kansas to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 10 years.
Kansas's payroll law mandates no more than 40% of minimum wage may be used as a tip credit.
In the Kansas payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.
Kansas's statute requires that wage and hour records be kept for a period of not less than three years. These records will normally consist of at least the information required under FLSA.
The Kansas agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Child Support Enforcement Program
Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services
300 S.W. Oakley St.
1st Fl., Biddle Bldg.
Topeka, KS 66606
Kansas has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,