Article Keyword Videos to Watch
Click on the image to start the video.
Images - Links - Articles
Payroll Arkansas, Unique Aspects of Arkansas Payroll Law and Practice
The Arkansas State Agency that oversees the collection and reporting of State income taxes deducted from payroll checks is:
Department of Finance and Administration
P.O. Box 9941
Little Rock, AR 72203-9941
Arkansas requires that you use Arkansas form "AR4EC, Employee's Withholding Exemption Certificate" instead of a Federal W-4 Form for Arkansas State Income Tax Withholding.
Not all states allow salary reductions made under Section 125 cafeteria plans or 401(k) to be treated in the same manner as the IRS code allows. In Arkansas cafeteria plans: are not taxable for income tax calculation; are not taxable for unemployment insurance purposes. 401(k) plan deferrals are: not taxable for income taxes; are taxable for unemployment purposes.
In Arkansas supplemental wages are taxed at a 7% flat rate.
You may file your Arkansas State W-2s by magnetic media if you choose to.
The Arkansas State Unemployment Insurance Agency is:
Employment Security Department
P.O. Box 2981
Little Rock, AR 72203-2981
The State of Arkansas taxable wage base for unemployment purposes is wages up to 000.00.
Arkansas requires Magnetic media reporting of quarterly wage reporting if the employer has at least 250 employees that they are reporting that quarter.
Unemployment records must be retained in Arkansas for a minimum period of five years. This information generally includes: name; social security number; dates of hire, rehire and termination; wages by period; payroll pay periods and pay dates; date and circumstances of termination.
The Arkansas State Agency charged with enforcing the state wage and hour laws is:
Department of Labor
10421 West Markham
Little Rock, AR 72205
State minimum wage in the State of Arkansas for non-FLSA employers is .15 per hour.
Arkansas State Law covering paying overtime in a non-FLSA covered employer is still one and 1/2 times regular rate after 40-hour week.
Arkansas State new hire reporting requirements are that every employer must report every new hire and rehire. The employer must report the federally required elements of:
- Employee's name
- Employee's address
- Employee's social security number
- Employer's name
- Employers address
- Employer's Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN)
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is a no penalty for a late report in Arkansas.
The Arkansas new hire reporting agency can be reached at 800-259-2095 or on the web at www.ar-newhire.com .
Arkansas does not allow compulsory direct deposit. Any employee can opt out in writing and request a check
Arkansas has no State Wage and Hour Law provisions concerning pay stub information.
In Arkansas employees must be paid at least semi-monthly; monthly for FLSA-exempt employees at larger companies earning at least ,000.00 annually.
Arkansas payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay within 7 working days and that for voluntarily terminated employees there is no provision.
Escheat laws in Arkansas require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in Arkansas to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of ten years.
Arkansas payroll law mandates no more than 50% of minimum wage may be used as a tip credit.
In the Arkansas payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.
Arkansas law provides that record retention of wage and hour records period is at least three years.
The Arkansas agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Office of Child Support Enforcement
400 E. Capitol
P.O. Box 8133
Little Rock, AR 72203
Arkansas has the following provisions for child support deductions:
- When to start Withholding? 14 days after order is mailed
- When to send Payment? Payday.
- When to send Termination Notice? Immediaetly
- Maximum Administrative Fee? .50 per pay period
- Withholding Limits? Federal Rules under CCPA.
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,
the last fifteen in private practice. Mr. Read is the author of "Tax and Accounting Issues
in Forming a New Business."
To find professional payroll services at a budget price go to www.payrollonabudget.com
a paperless payroll company.
For a full service payroll bureau with CPA's on staff visit www.CustomPayroll.com .
See an excerpt of Mr. Read's interviews from William Shatner's "Heartbeat of America"
television show on the web sites linked above.