Go To Articles Directory Home Page
To get the current article, - See Below (at the bottom of the page) -.
For top news titles, see below.
Web sites and videos listed in this page are frequently updated.
If you find that this page is useful (quality of web sites, images and videos, ...), you can add it to your favorites.
Bookmark Page !
Payroll Wyoming, Unique Aspects of Wyoming Payroll Law and Practice
Wyoming has no State Income Tax. There for there is no State Agency to oversee withholding deposits and reports. There are no State W2's to file, no supplement wage withholding rates and no State W2's to file.
This information must be reported within 20 days of the hiring or rehiring.
The information can be sent as a W4 or equivalent by mail, fax or electronically.
There is no penalty for a late report in Wyoming.
The Wyoming new hire-reporting agency can be reached at 800-970-9258 or 307-638-1675 or on the web at www.wy-newhire.com
Wyoming does not allow compulsory direct deposit.
Wyoming requires the following information on an employee's pay stub:
Wyoming requires that employee be paid no less often than on regular paydays; semimonthly for railroads, mines, refineries, oil and gas production, factories, mills.
Wyoming requires that the lag time between the end of the pay period and the payment of wages earned from 1st-15th, pay by 1st of next month; from 16th-end of month, pay by 15th of next month; state employees on direct deposit-wages earned during month pay on last working day of month, for hourly and state university employees, wages earned from 16th of previous month-15th of current month pay on last working day of month; state employees not on direct deposit-paychecks mailed by last working day of month.
Wyoming payroll law requires that involuntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay with in 5 working days; next regular payday if suspended due to labor dispute or temporarily laid off. Voluntarily terminated employees must be paid their final pay within 5 working days.
There is no provision in Wyoming law concerning paying deceased employees.
Escheat laws in Wyoming require that unclaimed wages be paid over to the state after one year.
The employer is further required in Wyoming to keep a record of the wages abandoned and turned over to the state for a period of 5 years.
Wyoming payroll law mandates no more than .02 may be used as a tip credit.
In the Wyoming payroll law there is no provision covering required rest or meal periods.
Wyoming statute requires that wage and hour records be kept for a period of not less than two years. These records will normally consist of at least the information required under FLSA.
The Wyoming agency charged with enforcing Child Support Orders and laws is:
Child Support Enforcement Program
State Department of Family Services
2300 Capitol Ave.
Hathaway Bldg., 3rd Fl.
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0490
Wyoming has the following provisions for child support deductions:
Please note that this article is not updated for changes that can and will happen from time to time.
About the Author: Charles J. Read, CPA has been in the payroll, accounting and tax business for 30 years,